Day 2/90

Day 2/90

Ive always cooked for people at home, so today I decided to cook for my dogs. I love them to death and I felt they needed some more pampering. I scoured the internet for a suitable recipe, not too sweet, but still a treat. I came across something on Wikihow which I thought I could use. A major draw was the name of the recipe, not cupcakes but pupcakes. 🙂


So, my aim was to make something for my poochie pies.


Here it is. I have modified the recipe in many ways, and added walnuts to make it healthier.


APPLE WALNUT PUPCAKES 


Recipe source: http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Apple-Crunch-Pupcakes


What you need:


Dogs to feed, preferably the kind who eat anything and everything




One apple
A handful of crushed walnuts
One cup whole wheat flour (atta)
One and three fourth cup all purpose flour
Two tablespoons of honey
One egg
A teaspoon of vanilla essence
A teaspoon of baking powder
One and a half cups of water


What you do:


1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius.


2. Slice and peel the apple, cut it into small bits, and put it into a small bowl, with enough water to cover the pieces. This is what it looked like at this stage:

2. Put the bowl into the microwave, for four minutes.


3. Take it out of the microwave, and try and cool it down. This doesnt work, so finally we put it into another bowl with some water. This works a bit, so finally out of utter impatience, we just dunked it into the mixie anyway.


4. Meanwhile, in a patila, add all the ingredients. Preferably, add the dry ones first, the whole wheat and all purpose flour and the baking powder, and then add the egg, vanilla extract, water, essence, honey and last but not the least, the walnuts. Ah, those lovey-dovey walnuts! Here is proof:

5. Add the mushy apple mixture to the patila.


Here, I tasted the batter and it wasnt sweet at all, which was good. And I made my dog lick some, and she loved it, which gave me some encouragement.


6. Grease a baking tray and put your cupcake moulds on them, grease those too. Use that butter baby!


7. Then, put them into the oven for 15 minutes. Seriously dont put them in for longer, or keep checking with a fork/toothpick. My oven seems to just want cupcakes for 15 minutes, otherwise the oven powers maliciously burn them. Bitchy oven.


8. Take them out of the oven, while wearing oven gloves, or use some kitchen cloth. Dont try to be superhuman . They look lovely while out of the oven, and you should let them cool here. Then, take them out of the moulds.



9. Then, they are ready to eat!







They looked really good so I tasted one, I admit I have tasted dog biscuits in the past, but this was way better. The whole wheat flour made it dense, but these are dogs we are talking about, so its all ok. The walnuts added the much needed crunchiness to the situation. 


9. Give them to your dogs. I gave them one each. First I made the mistake of giving them the pupcake whole, but they couldnt figure out what to do with it. One of my dogs, Zorro, ate it anyway, while the other one, Zulu was showing her classic attitude. I had to roughly cut them up into pieces and then she ate them.


Zorro posed for the camera, before he devoured the pupcake.





Here is what zulu did. She basically looked the other way.

I hope they genuinely liked them, judging from the speed at which they ate them, I think they did. 🙂 

4 thoughts on “Day 2/90

Leave a Reply

