Day 3/90

Day 3/90



Today was fruit day for me, not out of choice, but because my mother dearest had bought a bazillion fruits a few days back and no one was really paying too much attention to them. My mother is a very seasonal person, so the fruits she bought were also seasonal, apples and oranges namely. There was one ubiquitous ‘golden’ apple which I didnt get to use anyway, but there were three red apples, and two oranges. Initially I thought of making a tart, but all the tart recipes didnt really make my stomach go ooh la la, so I thought of looking for a bread recipe, involving these two ingredients. After a lot of searching, I came across a lovely recipe on another blog. 


Here is the source:  http://heartkeepercommonroom.blogspot.com/2005/12/generational-gifts-or-what-to-do-with.html 


This was not only a lovely looking blog, (mine looks like crap currently), but the recipe was a grandma recipe, and I have a weakness for these kinds. It seemed easy enough, so I started off with my domestic help. As usual, I modified the recipe a bit, I just cant seem to stick to one recipe, dont know why. 


Today, my domestic help told me to f*** off from the kitchen, so that she could work in peace, but I stuck to my guns, and went on doing my thing anyway. 😀 


So, shazam shazoooom 


APPLE ORANGE WALNUT BREAD 


Here is what you need: 


Two apples, chopped into itsy-bitsy pieces, DONT peel them 
One and a half cups of freshly squeezed orange juice (Dont you dare use tropicana, my eyes are on you) 
The rind of one orange, remove the pith 
Two eggs
Half a cup of oil 
Three cups of flour 
One and one third cup of sugar 
One and a half teaspoon of baking soda 
Two teaspoons of salt 
A handful of walnuts 
A glass of tang for refreshment 


Today, I decided to put all the ingredients in one place and take a picture, much like the cookery shows, I dont think this is actually practical, as my help would have to wash more dishes, but just for today. 





























The process: 


1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celcius, this is the maximum my oven goes to anyway. 


2. Dunk the chopped apple pieces into the microwave, with some water, in a small bowl. Take it out and let it cool. 


3. Then, put the flour, salt, and baking powder into the ever faithful patila. 


4. Now, put the oil, eggs, and sugar in the mixie. I would suggest, put the sugar in batches of two, half and half, as otherwise the mixie might stop working, resulting in verbal abuse from the person who bought it. After this, add the orange juice, and blend it again. Then, empty out all of this into the patila. 


5. At this stage, drain the water out of the bowl with the apples, and put the apples into the blender. Take out the apple mush, and put it into the patila. 


6. Now, blend the orange rind together in the mixie. Take it out and add this to the patila. 


7. Merrily merrily whisk away, with a wooden spoon preferably. 



8. Grease a suitable baking dish, its best if you have bread pans, but I didnt, so I used a baking dish. This ensured that I had batter left over to make four cupcakes, a lovely outcome! 🙂 But this is not exactly and ideal situation, so try and make sure you have a dish big enough to fit in the entire batter. 





























While it was baking, I drank a glass of tang and watched some news. I suggest you do the same. Actually, dont watch the news. Sit next to your dog instead. 





























9. Put the batter into the baking dish, and put it into the oven for 30 minutes, check at 15 minutes with a fork/toothpick. Watch the bread merrily bake away. Sigh. 





























10. Take the dish out and stare at it, and ask yourself if you actually made it. 





























11. Then, arrange it on trays. 





























12. Eat them. The best part was my grandmother’s praise, who said, “Arre wah!” 


Also, the bread is best enjoyed with powerful music, this is what I was listening to…something inside so strong, by Labi Siffre. I came across the song in a docu film called War on Democracy by John Pelger, a must watch. I was almost in the tears. 




Here is the video for the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otuwNwsqHmQ

Leave a Reply

