Day 6/90

Day 6/90

So a couple of days ago, I got a craving for something sweet after dinner. I called for kiwi sorbet from the fancy south delhi ice cream parlour behind my house, and ofcourse, two scoops of kiwi sorbet cost me 200 rupees!!! I completely freaked out and vowed never to have it again. Stupid bastards. 


I know I still will, but then I dared to look for a sorbet recipe. These days, my instinct tells me about food, “How tough can it get?” 


So, as an all day experiment, (when I say all day, I mean post lunch), I decided to make orange sorbet, just to see if it can be replicated at home. 


I found a lovely recipe online. Yeah, I am sexy and I know itt!! 


Here is the source: http://www.recipetips.com/recipe-cards/t–2128/orange-sorbet.asp

So, here goes.. 


ENTIRELY HOME MADE ORANGE SORBET 


What you need: 


Courage 


Five oranges 
Two cups of water 
One and one third cups of sugar 
Four tablespoons of lemon juice 


Here is the process: 


1. First, peel two oranges, make sure no pith comes in the way, and keep the rind hence produced (this sounds like class ten maths) in a bowl, separately. Just keep it anywhere visible to the (naked) eye. 





























2. You need to keep in mind that you need four cups of juice. So, use the two oranges you just peeled, and three others, and take out the juice. Keep this aside too. 


3. Combine the water, sugar and orange rind together in a saucepan and bring it to boil. 





























I could here my dog knocking on a door nearby, so my help went to investigate. Turns out, my pooch Zorro was locked up! Ishhhh!!!! So we rescued him from his own clutches.
4. Cover it up to make the process faster. 





























5. Now, once youre absolutely convinced its boiling, with the bubbles and all, put the gas off and let it simmer. 


Now, you do the wiggle wiggle wiggle wiggle man dance. Some pelvic thrusts too please. 🙂 


6. Once its cooled, drain the mixture, basically get rid of the rind. 





























7. Combine the orange juice, lemon juice, and the sugar water mixture together, in a patila. This is what it looks like: 





























8. Transfer the contents to a steel baking dish, or in any dish actually, and keep it in the freezer. Here is what we used: 





























9. Freeze it for atleast four to five hours. 





























10. Take it out, and GENTLY transfer the contents to a huge steel patila, by scooping out the mixture slowly, suitable for use with the electric blender you have, if not, dont worry, all you need to do is bring it to a creamy texture, how you do that is not my concern. Maybe hand mixing? 


(PS: Im showing off because I just got a new blender :D, you can very well use a mixie)





























11. Blend it until it reaches a creamy consistency like this one. 































12. Take the blender out of the patila without touching the blades, and keep it aside. Admire your product. 🙂 Bye bye sorbet in the mall! 





























13. Transfer it to a glass bowl and keep it in the fridge to let it firm up till you serve it after dinner. This is what it looks like after you have put it on the table: 





























14. Put it into smaller bowls to serve to the unsuspecting. 





























My mother said it tasted bitter, so maybe dont put in that much rind, but then, bitter orange sorbet is an acquired taste. The sorbet is half finished by three people by now, and its hardly been an hour, so I think it should work. 


Happy eating 🙂 

6 thoughts on “Day 6/90

  1. Ooh, look who's silently fighting the evil forces of capitalism in her kitchen. Yeah, that's right! We don't need no over-priced sorbet! Also, I love how I'm Sexy and I know it has become your theme, but you should know, I was there first!!!

  2. Yes, it was a wee bit bitter, but so is marmalade. I'm going for a second helping, and a third if it hasn't finished by then…What u cooking next? Can't wait! 🙂

  3. Even though this isn't my cup of … well, sorbet (sorry!) … the recipe looked interesting. A drool pool (that even Kiyara would approve of!) is slowly forming by my desk .. what's next, closet-Madhur Jaffrey (or do I mean Sanjeev Kapoor)?

Leave a Reply

