Day 44/90

Day 44/90

My parents received a grand anniversary present from my aunt…a bazillion seasonal fruits. I mean, ofcourse this got me thinking the moment they received them, what can I do with these things? 


I decided to make up a recipe involving the very citrus kinoo, actually called Kinnow. Read about them here. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinnow


Ok, so out of the fruits, atleast which fruit was decided. Then, I thought of being fancy shmancy and making a fruit flambe, but it called for pineapples and some liqueur which I didnt want to make either. Then I came across a parfait, which involved three cups of cream, so I freaked out. I then made up my own salad recipe. 


I think the universe was with me today. I was mind dancing my way to the supermarche, when this song played on my playlist; Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, by the Beatles. And guess what the starting lines are… Picture yourself in a boat on a river,
With tangerine trees and marmalade skies.” 



So today my recipe does not involve cups or grams or ozes or one fourths, it involves peace, wisdom, love and dollops of compassion. šŸ™‚ 

Also, I am fortunate to have not one but two kinds of lettuce growing in my home garden now, so I could freshly nip it. Try and find rocket lettuce, it gives so much more flavor than Mcdonalds lettuce. (The lettuce commonly available and put inside burgers at Mcdonalds)

A VERY DRY FRUIT ROCKET TO THE CITRUS PLANET 
(Salad with rocket lettuce, kinnow, feta, in a balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing) 

What you need: 

A couple of walnuts/akhrot  
A couple of dried figs/anjeer 
A handful of freshly nipped rocket lettuce leaves (HAHA!!)
A handful of freshly nipped normal Mcdonalds lettuce leaves(I think its called iceberg, not sure, the thing you get at Mcdonalds inside your burger basically) 
Two kinnows 
Balsamic vinegar, a splash
Olive oil, around a tablespoon 
Feta, enough to crumble liberally on top 

What to do: 

1. Roast your walnuts and dried figs on a pan, along with some salt. No oil please, thanks. This should be done in five minutes. 

2. Juice one kinnow, and chop up the other one. Also chop up the lettuce. Look how patriotic it looks. 
















3. Now, mix the balsamic vinegar and olive oil together in a small bowl. 

4. Now bring out a salad bowl, and add everything together in any order you prefer. I put the lettuce leaves, then the chopped kinnow, then the dry fruits, then the juice and the vinegar olive oil mix. 






5. In the absolute end, add some feta on top, and toss around once. Or you can just do the tossing one step earlier, and greedily eat all the feta on top. Nom nom nom! 


2 thoughts on “Day 44/90

Leave a Reply

