Day 54/90

Day 54/90

A few days ago, last year actually, I went to the supermarche and bought some fair trade brown sugar, imported maal! I am a sucker for all things fair trade, and I immediately picked it up! Ive always known deep down inside that the brown sugar available in India is actually just white sugar caramelized, and I get cheated everytime I buy it. So one of the reasons for this was to check if any other kind exists. I know it does in fancy shmancy cafes, but in my local supermarche, maybe not. 


I opened the packet and sure enough, the brown sugar tasted different from the normal shady one I have been brought up on. 


So when I got the brown sugar, the next obvious step was to make brownies, so I did. 


I will admit, they got burnt, but we managed to take off the burnt layer completely. They seriously taste delish. But be careful and look at the oven after five minutes. 


COFFEE AND BROWN SUGAR BROWNIES WITH WALNUTS AND LOTS OF LOVE AND CALORIES 


What you need: 


One cup of brown sugar 
Two thirds cup of flour 
A teaspoon of vanilla essence or any liqueur, but make sure the liqueur is not mint or a contrasting flavor 
Two eggs 
A pinch of salt, only pinch, dont do anything else. My eyes are on you. 
Half a cup of melted butter 
Half a cup of cocoa powder 
Half a cup of crushed walnuts





























A teaspoon of coffee 
Half a teaspoon of baking powder 
Icing sugar to dust, optional 


What to do: 


1. Look at the brown sugar at your disposal. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celcius. 







































2. Mix everything together in whatever you like. Here are some pictures. 




































3. Add to a greased baking dish, and bake for ten minutes max. 


4. Take it out of the oven, dust with icing sugar and enjoy! 


































































































































2 thoughts on “Day 54/90

Leave a Reply

