Arre dekho birthday aa raha hai! *Day N*

Arre dekho birthday aa raha hai! *Day N*

So, I am back to some kind of serial blogging, (when I say serial, I mean in a serial order!) and my target is a friends birthday. Everyday till her birthday, I will cook with the letters which make up her name. This is to keep things surpriseworthy, not that you need to know. But anyway, so the letter for today, to start things off, is is is…is is is…N! 


N, for the lazy gits among you, is the 14th letter of the alphabet. 


So today’s ingredient is nuts! In french walnuts are called ‘noix’, so I am keeping to my brief here. 


Here is what I made: 


TARTE AUX NOIX 
(A walnut tart, with a lot of walnuts) 


Source: http://m.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Caramelized-Walnut-Tart-105705


What you need:


One pre-baked pie crust or pie crust dough, (as you wish, I prebaked mine) 


For the pie crust recipe see here: 


http://cookingwithsomehelp.blogspot.in/2011/12/day-3090.html

The day 30 recipe calls for a tart shell on top and bottom, but you only need to make the bottom part of the tart shell, not the top, so keep that in mind. 


Filling:


One and one fourth cup of toasted walnuts 
This is how I toasted mine:































Little more than half a cup of cream 
Litle more than half a cup of brown sugar (use brown, or else you wont get the colour you want, which will be sad really) 
One fourth cup honey 
One teaspoon vanilla essence 
A pinch of crushed cinnamon 


What to do: 


1. Mix all the filling ingredients together, in a saucepan. Or in any other vessel with which you believe you can pour easily. 








































































































2. Pour it into the pie crust, and bake in a 200 degree oven for 20 mins, or until the centre appears to have set. 











































































Cut it neatly and eat it. So the idea is for the filling and crust to come out together, but this may not happen. Keywords here being may and not. 





What I did is, I baked it, then I took it out, and I didnt like what it looked like. So I took a spoon and mashed it all up, and then put it in the freezer. I then microwaved it and served it, which worked for me. To avoid this, do not mash with the spoon. 


Another thing, you do not have to first bake the crust and then bake again with the filling, you can just bake both together. I am going to try that soonish. For this, you prepare pie dough, lay it out in the pre greased tin, and then pour the filling in. THEN bake for twenty minutes. Maybe this works better. 


I love you friend! Keep looking at this space for more surprises! 🙂








4 thoughts on “Arre dekho birthday aa raha hai! *Day N*

Leave a Reply

