MATAR PANEER I LOVE YOU

MATAR PANEER I LOVE YOU

So like I always start any and all blog posts, I am writing after a long time, that too on a wordpress account, and maybe I shouldnt. Ok this is getting awkward, im going to write anyway. So ive moved countries, and now have a tight budget, and friends who a)love food, b)have a tight budget. I cant stop cooking, so I am going to try and cook on a budget. 

So the other day I got a recipe request from my awesome classmate Alison, so I went over to her lovely house (except the mould, Brighton City Council, if youre reading this, I want to tell you that you are creating terrible karma) and cooked some. 


I cant really calculate how much this cost, but whatever it did, it is worth it. Whether it is a special saturday, or youre feeling like making Indian restaurant type food at home without eating out where it most likely will be shit, or you want to try and challenge foodgawkerites, this is the way to go. This is cheezy but whatever. 


So here goes. . . 


MATAR PANEER 

(Peas and cottage cheese in a rich tomato gravy) 


What you need: 


A great aunt who gives you confidence and a good recipe 

A recipe request 

Helpers such as the great Suki 

DSC_0224

Good company, music, wine (Peary from Morrisons costs 2.75, get some!)


300 grams of Paneer, chopped into cubes (get the block of paneer which can be cut up) 
100 grams of frozen peas (sainsburys) 
One medium sized jar of tomato puree
Double cream, to taste 
Salt, according to taste 

It really is worth buying these Indian spices, they are useful for everything 


Turmeric, one teaspoon
Garam masala, one teaspoon 
Red chilli powder (if you want it really spicy, put in one and a half teaspoons, otherwise 1 is fine) 
Cumin seeds, two teaspoons 
2-3 tablespoons of oil 
One medium onion, chopped finely 
Three cloves of garlic and a knob of ginger, chopped finely 

 

What to do: 

1. Add the oil to a pot, with a lid. Once it is hot, add the cumin seeds. 

2. Once they crackle, add the garlic, ginger, and onion. 

3. Once the onion is brown, add the salt, turmeric, garam masala, and red chilli powder. My spice measurements may be off track, so you could add some more red chilli powder and garam masala if you think it isnt flavorful. 

I love cooking. And paneer. Paneer is good.
I love cooking. And paneer. Paneer is good.

4. Move it around for 5 minutes, and if its starting to burn, add the tomato puree. 

5. Add all the tomato puree from the jar, and the peas. Let it simmer. 

6. Once its boiling, add the paneer cubes. 

7. Once its all done, add the cream. 

8. Serve with plain rice. 


This is what it looks like: 

DSC_0235

This is what the table finally looks like:

DSC_0239

The plan this year is to make more student friendly meals, and I will count out the pounds next time.

Now I will write my essay, on a similar theme, how food brings people together.

Love you all and Happy New Year!

xx (Shay taught me this, I lovee it)

3 thoughts on “MATAR PANEER I LOVE YOU

Leave a Reply

