I actually wrapped some lettuce and ate it up.

I actually wrapped some lettuce and ate it up.

As most of you know, I have been between vegan and vegetarian for some time. I am mostly vegan now, and I only have cow’s milk in tea, but im weaning off that slowly. I hence need to be vegan food adventurous. I got some great fresh lettuce the other day, and decided to make wraps out of them. I found a delicious recipe for tofu lettuce wraps, and I made some that day. 

Here is what you need: 

A package of tofu, crumbled up (get as much as would fit into 12 lettuce leaves; I know this is tough to calculate, but figure it out. You can always eat up leftover tofu)

Sauces to taste – soy, teriyaki, hoisin, chilli and whatever else you want to use up Image

 

One chopped onion

Three cloves of garlic, chopped

Lemongrass to taste, dry or fresh.  

Some sprouts 

Two carrots and one spring onion finely chopped, for the spring onion, chop only the springs please. 

What to do: 

1. Add a negligible amount of oil (1 tsp) to a wok, and fry the onions, garlic and lemongrass. Once they brown, add the tofu. Add salt, and all the sauces in desired quantities. Mix it around a bit, till the sauces are in a deathly embrace with the tofu, or basically the tofu looks brown. This is the filling ready. 

Image

2. Set the lettuce leaves out on a table/flat surface. 

3. Add the tofu mix, and tell the eaters to add desired sprouts, carrots, spring onion springs.

Image 

4. Your very healthy and tasty snack/side dish is ready. This has tofu, AND sprouts. So the next time someone asks me where i get my protein, after smacking them, I will feed them lettuce wraps. My tasty source of protein. Mmmmmmmm. 

Image

Leave a Reply

