Im blogging again and this time it’s red sauce

Im blogging again and this time it’s red sauce

I dont know if anyone actually reads this blog, but I think its my responsibility to apologise to everyone who may be reading this. I havent blogged in ages. Hmm. I havent done this purposely, I was involved with another one of my loves, researching food. I finally did submit my dissertation, and if I dont fail, I will have my MA degree soon. Yay. 

In other news, Ive landed a restaurant internship. I know, im really cool. B-) It starts this friday, lets see how that goes. 

Before I start rambling on and on, I should put this recipe out. So here goes. 

VEGAN DIVINE RED VEGETABLE SAUCE

What you need (essentials and not so essentials) 

Six to eight tomatoes, cut up into four pieces and then blended 

Image

Four-five tablespoons of tomato puree

A generous bit of tomato ketchup 

One huge green bell pepper, chopped finely into squares. ( I will come check if they are squares, and if they are not, you will have to dance for me)

Three onions, finely chopped 

One mini cauliflower, cut into florets 

Image

One potato, finely chopped, but not so finely that they become invisible in the sauce (optional) 

Four garlic cloves, crushed 

Thyme, oregano and rosemary to taste (optional)

Salt to taste 

Crushed peppercorns to taste 

Three tablespoons of olive oil (less if you have endless time to cook, and are super health conscious)

Onions, garlic, and tomatoes and salt are the staple part of this dish, but add the other stuff because its easy to do and will Jazzy B up your dish. 

What to do: 

1. Get out a big pot. This helps with life. And you can peer into the dish whenevs you want. 

2. Add the oil to the pot, and once hot, add the onions, garlic and herbs. Also add some salt. Let the mix brown. 

3. Once that happens, add the cauliflower florets, chopped potatoes and chopped bell peppers. 

Image

4. Let them swim around for a bit, I kept trying to make them cook, put the lid on etc, but it didnt work. Anyway, so I got impatient, and added the blended tomatoes. And then the tomato puree, and then the tomato ketchup. Add some more salt here. 

Image

 

Image

 

5. Put the lid on, and let this simmer. Keep checking, but not like every two minutes, but lets say every five-seven minutes to check if its done. 

Image

 

Image

6. Once its done, put it into a serving bowl, and thank the gods for helping you make this wonderful dish, and be doubly grateful for your wonderful domestic help who helped out.  

Image

7. Serve with plain rice. Yo. 

Image

8. Enjoy this. Also im mighty proud of me because this is completely my recipe. 

Leave a Reply

