‘Vegan cheese, vegan cheese, if you really like cheese eat vegan cheese’

‘Vegan cheese, vegan cheese, if you really like cheese eat vegan cheese’

I love Vegan Smythe. He advocates for veganism in a fun, non-threatening way, and this is why I am his fan. His video, ‘Couldnt give up my cheese’ :  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZC4V4-Q_N7I is a great way to start watching his videos. It even gave me inspiration to make my own non-dairy cheese, which is oh so good.

GARLIC ALMOND HERBY (VEGAN) CHEESE 

Recipe sources: http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/almond-feta-cheese-with-herb-oil/ and http://www.maplespice.com/2011/04/baked-almond-feta-with-dill-oil.html

What you need

A cup of blanched almonds (Soak a cup of almonds in some water overnight, and in the morning remove the brown covers to reveal white almonds)

Image

Crushed garlic to taste

Salt and pepper to taste

Three tablespoons of olive oil

1/4th cup lemon juice

1/2 cup cold water

For the topping: 

A teaspoon each of crushed rosemary and thyme, and three tablespoons of olive oil

What to do:

1. Blend everything together until smooth and creamy.

Image

Image

2. Add this mix to a cheesecloth,(we used a new car wiper cloth :-/)  tie it up and place it in a sieve. Then place the sieve in a bowl/pan.

Image

 

 

2013-10-08 11.00.26

3. I did my mixing at 11 am, and by 11 pm I was all set to open the cheesecloth, but I waited till morning and it was worth the wait.

4. In the morning, open the cheesecloth, and transfer it to a bowl. Add the topping ingredients.

Image

Here are some more indicative photos, basically photos better than this one.

Image

Image

5. Use as spread.

Image

Optional: Bake the cheese before you add the herbs, this will apparently make it like feta, my mommy said not to do this so I didnt.

Leave a Reply

