Compassionate gram flour fudge

Compassionate gram flour fudge

As ive said earlier somewhere on this blog, I was a researcher at a ‘masala’ center, or spice center. I spoke to the women, gathering rich oral narratives, interspersed with the dust of amchoor(dried mango powder), turmeric, red chilli powder, and some other spices. Every day was different, and it was wonderful each time. As I went there, each encounter presented something different, something new and exciting, apart from my own life. In order to give back to the women, I made some besan ki barfi, or gram flour fudge.

I learnt strength, everyday wisdom, compassion and friendship. I also learnt other worldly matters such as research designs, and how to take interviews, and how to be ethical and other things. I gave some change to their lives, a young woman fleeting in and out. The spices spoke to me, they guided me on this journey. The women were carriers of messages, given to them by the spices. I was and still am in love, with their strong hands, determined feet pounding away, and general powerful demeanour. The spices were their life, and they gave life to the spices.

Here is a recipe for gram flour fudge.

COMPASSIONATE GRAM FLOUR FUDGE

Source: The lovely Manjula’s kitchen, my saviour in a foreign land

What you need:

  • 1 cup besan, gram flour
  • 2 tablespoons sooji, semolina
  • 1/4 cup coarsely ground almond powder
  • 6 tablespoons melted unsalted butter or ghee
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 8 green cardamoms– shelled and seeds crushed
  • Approx. 1 tablespoon pistachios crushed for garnishing

What to do:

Frankly I dont remember because I made this long back, but it involves a lot of love, a lot of mixing, and a lot of positive energy, and green pistachios.

 

Leave a Reply

