The weekly salad challenge #1 : EGGPLANT AND MUSHROOM ENSALADA

The weekly salad challenge #1 : EGGPLANT AND MUSHROOM ENSALADA

This week, the venerable Hamsini and I start the weekly salad challenge. While I blast Maahi Ve (AR Rahman, Highway 2014) , on my iTunes, I blog. ūüôā This song has been on repeat really for the past couple of days, gives my life so much meaning. I dont know how, but it does. The day I watched this movie, I opened my food diary after ages. I still havent figured out the connection, but it basically inspired me to LIVE life more, to cherish and enjoy every living, breathing moment.¬†

Coming back to topic, I have started this weekly challenge thing. We blog, we salad, we write. And in the future I hope to become a trapeze artist. Haha. Anyway, so you may be asking (operative word being may) why we are doing this challenge?! There are many reasons. Some of them are: 

1. To blog regularly : I keep my blog empty for days, with no activity. My blog gets upset and morose, and stops being happy. This challenge helps to remedy this. 

2. To eat healthy: Salads are great for health, unless you drown them in oil. Im guilty for today though. Anyway, this salad makes up by tasting awesome sauce. 

3. To become skilled saladtrisans (salad artisans): I speak for myself when I say that I want to really challenge myself, and become a skilled salad making woman. Im sure Hamsini feels the same. ūüôā¬†

Now, coming down to what I did today, here it is. 

EGGPLANT AND MUSHROOM ENSALADA 

What you need: 

Four mushrooms (Steamed with stems removed, or keep them on you choon)

One medium and one small eggplant (Brinjal) (Enough to chop up and fill up one medium sized oven tray) 

One handful of fresh basil leaves 

Two tablespoons of white wine or basic vinegar 

One teaspoon of honey 

Salt, crushed peppercorns, dried oregano powder, chilli flakes to season 

Two tablespoons of oil

One roughly chopped green chilli

What to do: 

1. Cut the eggplant into rounds/cubes whatevs, place on an oven tray, and rub the upper side with salt. 

DSC_5005

2. Let the salt and eggplant marriage last for 30 minutes. Basically let the eggplants absorb the salt for 30 minutes. See the source here. 

3. After 30 minutes, you will see that the eggplant slices are wet. 

4. Pat/Squeeze them dry with a kitchen towel. 

5. Arrange on a baking tray, and rub salt, oil and other seasonings on it. Seasonings can be altered as per your mood. 

6. Bake in a oven heated to 200 degrees celcius  for atleast 15 minutes, then check. You will know its done when the center is squishy. It may need another 15 minutes. Just saying. 

7. Take it out of the oven and add to a salad bowl. 

9. Add the green chilli and basil leaves, and steamed mushrooms. 

10. Prepare the vinaigrette by mixing the vinegar and honey in a small bowl. Add this to the salad bowl.

11. Enjoy this! 

DSC_5015

Follow Hamsini’s blog¬†here¬†for her salad journey!

Also, egg us on via twitter! Devika Hamsini

Leave a Reply

