Red Thai curry thanks to Ajit

Red Thai curry thanks to Ajit

Hello blog readers!

So today is Day 2 of the Vegan Mofo, and I thought I should try making some Thai curry. This has been a longstanding request from one of my darling blog readers Ekta who has been asking me to try out Thai curry for a couple of months, or was it a year?! Sorry Ekta! But you will see how I’ve more than made up for it with this recipe.

Today’s recipe credit goes to Ajit, a fellow instagrammer whose feed just makes you want to dig into the food. Follow him @macroajit for some lovely food and fun!

So here goes.

AJIT’S RED THAI CURRY

What you need:

Time – approx 30-40 minutes

For the paste:

Half a cup of roasted peanuts
Two cloves of garlic
One or two tablespoons of ginger chopped up and ready to go
One small onion or half a large one (figure this out please)
1 tablespoon oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
Salt to taste
Two Thai bird chillies or 1 teaspoon of chili powder

thai curry paste

Rest of the stuff

A can of coconut milk/ three cups of milk prepared with coconut milk powder
Kashmiri Lal mirch powder for color

Assorted vegetables which you need to steam (today we put in 2 small carrots, 1 small broccoli, 1 fist of beans, half a cup of corn, 10 mushrooms)

Lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves if you have them (I used Chinese orange tree leaves, I’m cool and I have a tree on my terrace)

What to do:

1. For the paste, just blend all the ingredients together with some water.

2. Heat up some oil in a wok, and add the lemon grass leaves. Give them a thwack!

IMG_4828-0

3. Add the paste to the wok, and mix around until brown and reduced a little bit in quantity. Add the leaves and the Kashmiri Lal mirch powder (Atleast a teaspoon – more if you can handle spice)

IMG_4829-0

4. Add the vegetables and mix around. Bathe them in the paste basically.

veggies in paste

5. Add the coconut milk, stir a bit, and put the gas off. You’re done! Woop!

final thai curry product

 

4 thoughts on “Red Thai curry thanks to Ajit

  1. Wohoo! I can actually smell the lemongrass and other Thai goodness through my screen. I love Ajit’s IG feed and it makes me hungry every single time. 🙂

    Let’s see through this VeganMoFo challenge till the very end sista! Good luck.

    Siri

  2. The delay is immaterial, if this is what i get after a little wait. Just the recipe I was looking for. Thank you so much, I am going to try it out this weekend 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

