Cashew Lemon Bars with a date crust : Mofo post 9

Cashew Lemon Bars with a date crust : Mofo post 9

So today I made cashew cheese lemon bars which were oh so good. First I looked at recipes online, but nothing reached out to my inner vegan core, hence I decided to make some myself with my favourites – cashews.

Here is what went in today.

VEGAN CASHEW LEMON BARS

What you need:

for the crust

One cup of almonds
Fifteen pitted dates
Water to bind, less than one fourth a cup
A teaspoon of lemon rind
for the topping

Two cups of cashews, soaked overnight
Juice of two medium size lemons
15-20 pitted dates
A teeny bit of agar agar (one inch of agar agar dissolved in hot water)
A teaspoon of lemon rind

What to do:

1. Make the crust by blending everything together. Use the grinder jar if the other normal one doesn’t work. Someone gift me a vitamix please.

2. Use a steel dish, and pat the crust on the bottom.

3. Blend the topping ingredients together.

4. Put the topping on top of the crust, and freeze for a couple of hours.

5. Cut into bars and serve!

What eventually I thought is that it can even be called a raw lemon pie, but I loved cutting them into bars and serving them to my cousin and mother. So they are bars and dare you call them anything else.

Love you choons!

IMG_4981.JPG

IMG_4978.JPG

IMG_4975.JPG

IMG_4973.JPG

13 thoughts on “Cashew Lemon Bars with a date crust : Mofo post 9

      1. Hey, I forgot to measure the dimensions, can you give me your email? I will check out tomorrow. But in any case you can make them with a glass dish or a small square steel dish, but I will check and let you know. šŸ™‚ xx

Leave a comment